Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Cara tutors in New Bedford, MA

Cara H.

Private tutor in New Bedford, MA

Education

Friends University - BS, Zoo Science , University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth - MS, Education

Experience

As an instructor, it is my duty to pass on information to my students. I use a variety of approaches to engage my students so they may learn the material. As a guide, I provide my students with the tools and resources they need, giving them direction. Every student is able to learn any subject. As a tutor, I nurture and encourage each student's unique set of gifts and skills to facilitate the learning process.In order for students to effectively learn, they must know they are safe and supported. My students know they can express themselves freely without fear. They feel safe mentally and physically. It brings me great joy to see a student progress from being uncertain and anxious about a subject to being confident and knowledgeable. Math is my favorite subject to tutor, because it is a subject that comes easily to me and an area where many students struggle. I have been a tutor for eight years. I have worked with all age groups, from one year of age through forty. I use a variety of teaching styles, and I find the more varied my skillset, the more I can help students of differing backgrounds. There are many ways to reach a student; the use of auditory, hands-on, and visual learning are important to consider when preparing a lesson. I have a master-level certification to tutor through the CRLA. I attended the University of Massachusetts and received a master's degree in education along with my first license to teach math, grades 8-12. I received a B.S. in Zoo Science from Friends University, and an associate's degree in Liberal Arts, Math and Science, from Bristol Community College. In addition to tutoring, I like to spend time outdoors and read.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Reading & the outdoors

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!